How to Reset Your Rust World & Playerdata

It is recommended that Rust server owners reset their worlds every 30 days to help keep their server community active. If you like the current world you're using you can also reset the player data which won't affect the world or configuration you've set up in your server configuration.

Warning: This action is irreversible! Please make sure you have a backup if you wish to keep your files. We have a guide on how to manually backup your server here.

Resetting your Server's Player Data

It is possible to reset your player data while still keeping your server's existing world. In order to do this, you will need to delete all of the player-related files using your server's file manager.

  1. Access your control panel and Stop your server.
  2. Navigate to Files > FTP File Access

  3. Enter your Multicraft Password and click Login.
  4. Navigate to the /server directory.
  5. Navigate to my_server_identity (or the current server identity of your server). 
  6. Delete all files that include the word player, these will be .db files as highlighted in the image below.
  7. Start your server.

After completing these steps your Rust server's player data should be entirely reset.

Resetting Your Server's World

To delete or reset your server's world, you will need to delete all files associated with it via FTP.

  1. Access your control panel and Stop your server.
  2. Navigate to Files > FTP File Access

  3. Navigate to the /server directory.
  4. Navigate to my_server_identity (or the current server identity of your server). 
  5. Delete the .map file. If you're not using a custom map this will be the file labeled proceduralmap.
  6. Delete any files ending with .sav if present.
  7. Start your server.

After completing these steps your old map should be removed, and a fresh new map will be on your server.  For custom maps, follow this guide.

If you require any further assistance, please contact our support at: https://shockbyte.com/billing/submitticket.php

Mitchell Smith

Managing Director @ Shockbyte

  • Rust, reset server, Reset Playerdata, Reset world
  • 27 Users Found This Useful
Was this answer helpful?

Related Articles

How to Ban or Unban a Player on Your Rust Server

The ability to ban is built into every Rust server out of the box, preventing unwanted players...

Rust Admin Commands List

Here is a list of all commands for Rust. Note: Some commands listed here may only work with an...

How to Add a Custom Map to Your Rust Server

If you want to use custom maps on your Rust server, you'll need to use the RustEdit Oxide...

How to Set a Server Name for Your Rust Server

When connecting to your server in Rust or viewing the server in the Steam server list, all...

How to Use Rust Oxides Permission System

This guide is designed to help you understand Oxide's permission system. It will cover the basics...