How to Change the Java Version on your Minecraft Server

Some custom server types may require you to to change the version of Java that is running on your Minecraft server, such as custom forks of Spigot. In order to do this, you will need to use a custom jar on your server.

Changing Your Java Version

  1. Select the Custom Server Type category from the Server Type dropdown menu on your Multicraft Control Panel.
    Minecraft Custom Server Type

  2. Select the Custom JAR Java X version from Custom Server Type dropdown. For the purpose of this tutorial, we will be using Custom JAR Java 8
    Minecraft Custom Java Version

  3. Upload the file via your preferred FTP Client. We recommend using FileZilla.

  4. Rename your Server JAR file to custom-javaX.jar, where X is the version that you have chosen to use. As we're using Custom JAR Java 8, the JAR file should be renamed to custom-java8.jar. Ensure that these are all in lower-case, otherwise, it will not load properly.
    Custom JAVA rename

If you're installing a server type that requires extra files (usually additional libraries) such as Forge, SpongeForge or any mod pack, you will also need to upload these. We have a guide on how to install modpacks.

Congratulations! You have now successfully changed your Minecraft Server's Java Version!

If you require any further assistance, please contact our support at:

Mitchell Smith

Managing Director @ Shockbyte

  • custom jar, custom java
  • 14 Users Found This Useful
Was this answer helpful?

Related Articles

How to Modify Bukkit Configuration (bukkit.yml)

The Bukkit Config file has many options and settings that can be modified to change the behavior...

How to Configure Your Minecraft Server (

We have a video tutorial on how to configure your Minecraft server:   The

Adding Extra Control Panel Users

We have a video tutorial on how to add users on Multicraft:   You can give a friend or server...

Adjusting View Distance on Your Minecraft Server

View Distance is a configuration option for Minecraft servers that sets the number of chunks...

Changing Your Minecraft Game Mode

Minecraft servers have 5 game modes to choose from: Survival, Creative, Hardcore, and...